2017 VCPC Executive


At it's January 4, 2017 meeting, the Vancovuer City Planning Commission selected Nola Kate Seymoar, Jennifer Marshall and Dave Crossley as their Executive Committee for 2017.


Chair: Nola Kate Seymaor

2016 seymoar

Nola-Kate is the retired president and CEO of the International Centre for Sustainable Cities (1999-2010). Under her leadership, ICSC won international recognition in urban planning and design, solid waste management, urban greening, energy efficiency and food security, and Canada's top award for long-standing commitment to international cooperation.

She has worked at all three levels of government, including serving as director general in Environment Canada and executive director of a royal commission of inquiry. In the non- governmental sector, she headed two large international conference events and was deputy to the president of the International Centre for Sustainable Development. She has contributed to many international summits and events as a speaker, delegate, and organizer. She served on advisory committees for the World Urban Forum and the World Peace Forum in 2006 in Vancouver and headed a team of writers that produced From Ideas to Action: 70 Actionable Ideas for the World Urban Forum III.

She has three interdisciplinary degrees: a Ph.D. in social psychology, a master's in community development and a bachelor of arts in recreation administration. She has taught at both undergraduate and graduate levels. Her writing and research centers on communities and empowerment.

Nola-Kate received the UN Association's Global Citizen Award in 1995, the Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal in 2002 and the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012.


Vice Chair: Jennifer Marshall

2016 marshallJennifer has been actively involved in the architectural culture of Vancouver since 1975 when she began her architectural career at Thompson Berwick & Pratt. She has been a registered architect and principal of her own firm since 1989.

Her firm, Urban Arts Architecture, an award winning practice in Gastown, specializes in community based cultural, recreation, and education projects. Recent projects include the Queensborough Community Centre in New Westminster, the T'it'q'et Community Hall and Health Centre near Lillooet, the Summerland branch of the Okanagan Regional Library, and the Engineering Student Centre at UBC.

Jennifer has worked as an urban designer on several significant urban projects, most notably the Vancouver Central Waterfront (Marathon Lands) and has continued to be involved in the visioning of the city, including the Gastown Waterfront Vision, and most recently re-visioning form of development for RS-1 neighbourhoods to allow for alternate affordable models of tenure. She recently completed serving as Chair of the Vancouver Urban Design Panel and sits on the Board for the Gastown BIA and the Centre for Art Architecture and Design in West Vancouver.


Treasurer: Dave Crossley

2016 crossleyDavid Crossley has been a resident of the City of Vancouver for the past decade, having lived and worked in the metro Vancouver region his entire life. David holds a First Class Honours Degree in Geography, and a Certificate in Urban Studies from Simon Fraser University (SFU). Professionally, David has worked for the Planning Institute of British Columbia (the association of professional planners in BC and the Yukon) for over 13 years, currently as Executive Director. He previously worked as a constituency assistant for a Member of the Legislative Assembly.

David's prior volunteer experience includes: serving as a director of the Consumer's Association of Canada, serving on both the SFU Senate and Board of Governors, serving as an officer of the Simon Fraser Student Society, and as a director of the SFU Community Trust. David has also, as a resident, participated at various times in planning processes within his community.



The Vancouver City Planning Commission is an advisory body of volunteers appointed by City Council with a broad mandate to consider and advise Council on matters relating to the future of Vancouver. The current Commissioners are: Nola-Kate Seymoar (Chair), Jennifer Marshall (Vice-chair), Dave Crossley (Treasurer), Janice Abbott, Amelia Huang, Tł'akwasik̕a̱n Khelsilem, Karenn Krangle, Neal LaMontagne, Robert Matas, Melanie Matining, Leslie Shieh, and Anthony Perl. Councillors Adriane Carr and Andrea Reimer provide liaison with Vancouver City Council, Commissioner Casey Crawford provides liaison with the Vancouver Parks Board. The Executive Director of the Planning Commission is Yuri Artibise.