New Commissioners: Janice Abbott & Leslie Shieh

On December 14, 2016, Vancouver City Council appointed two new members to the Vancouver City Planning Commission: Janice Abbott and Leslie Shieh.Janice and Leslie were appointed for a two yer year ending on December 31, 2018.

Janice Abbott

Janice Abbott has been the CEO of Atira Women’s Resource Society since 1992. She has led the Society through its incredible growth from a single transition house in South Surrey with a staff of seven to a large multi-service agency with two, for-profit subsidiaries, a development arm and more than 500 staff. She has headed up many pioneering capital projects including Canada’s first multi-unit recycled shipping container housing development, completed in August 2013.

Janice was recognized by BC Business Magazine as among one of BC’s 35 Most Influential Women in 2016 and BC’s Most Influential Women in Not-for-Profit, Culture & Media in 2015. She is also the recipient of several other awards including the 2013 BC Non-Profit Housing Association’s Denise LaBlond Award, recognizing her dedication and vision in affordable housing in BC; and the Ernst & Young 2010 Social Entrepreneur of the Year award.

Leslie Shieh

Leslie ShiehLeslie Shieh is the co-founder of Take Root, a research-driven development company in Vancouver. Her recent projects include revitalizing a public market and developing a building for makers. Leslie has worked as a consultant in community economic development, working alongside communities and local organizations in Canada, United States, China, and Taiwan.

She holds a BS in Urban Studies from Cornell University and an MCP (Planning) from the University of California, Berkeley. She completed a PhD in Urban Planning from University of British Columbia where her research examined community building and governance under the context of China’s rapid urbanization.

Her work in Vancouver combines her extensive experiences working in different urban contexts and her interest in furthering social and environmental goals through real estate.

The Vancouver City Planning Commission is an advisory body of volunteers appointed by City Council with a broad mandate to consider and advise Council on matters relating to the future of Vancouver. The current Commissioners are: Nola-Kate Seymoar (Chair), Jennifer Marshall (Vice-chair), Dave Crossley (Treasurer), Janice Abbott, Amelia Huang, Tł’akwasik̕a̱n Khelsilem, Karenn Krangle, Neal LaMontagne, Robert Matas, Melanie Matining, Leslie Shieh, and Anthony Perl.

Councillors Adriane Carr and Andrea Reimer provide liaison with Vancouver City Council, Commissioner Casey Crawford provides liaison with the Vancouver Parks Board.

The Executive Director of the Planning Commission is Yuri Artibise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *