New Commissioners: Amelia Huang & Jennnifer Marshall

On July 12, 2016, Vancouver City Council appointed two new members to the Vancouver City Planning Commission: Amelia Huang and Jennifer Marshall.

Amelia Huang

Amelia is an avid supporter of sustainable and socially inclusive neighbourhoods, public participation, systems thinking and local economic development. She has an academic background in environmental geography and sustainable community development, and is currently enrolled in the Master’s of Urban Studies program at SFU.

Before her return to school, Amelia spent 5 years as a part of a family owned and operated restaurant business right around the corner from City Hall. She is also active in other groups such as the City’s Active Transportation Policy Council, the Sustainability Committee with the Strathcona BIA, and the vice-chair of the Car Free Vancouver Society. She will look for any excuse to go cycling, visit farmer’s markets, volunteer, reduce/reuse/recycle and picnic in just about any season.

Jennifer Marshall

Jennifer has been actively involved in the architectural culture of Vancouver since 1975 when she began her architectural career at Thompson Berwick & Pratt. She has been a registered architect and principal of her own firm since 1989.

Her firm, Urban Arts Architecture, an award winning practice in Gastown, specializes in community based cultural, recreation, and education projects. Recent projects include the Queensborough Community Centre in New Westminster, the T’it’q’et Community Hall and Health Centre near Lillooet, the Summerland branch of the Okanagan Regional Library, and the Engineering Student Centre at UBC.

Jennifer has worked as an urban designer on several significant urban projects, most notably the Vancouver Central Waterfront (Marathon Lands) and has continued to be involved in the visioning of the city, including the Gastown Waterfront Vision, and most recently re-visioning form of development for RS-1 neighbourhoods to allow for alternate affordable models of tenure. She recently completed serving as Chair of the Vancouver Urban Design Panel and sits on the Board for the Gastown BIA and the Centre for Art Architecture and Design in West Vancouver.

About the Vancouver City Planning Commission

The Vancouver City Planning Commission is an advisory body of volunteers appointed by City Council with a broad mandate to consider and advise Council on matters relating to the future of Vancouver. The current Commissioners are: Nola-Kate Seymoar (co-chair), Neal LaMontagne (co-chair), Laura Carey, Dave Crossley, Amelia Huang, Lihua Huang, Karenn Krangle, Robert Matas, Melanie Matining, Jennifer Marshall, Anthony Perl, Andy Yan, and Brandon Yan.

Councillors Adriane Carr and Andrea Reimer provide liaison with Vancouver City Council, Commissioner Casey Crawford provide liaison with the Vancouver Parks Board, and School Board Trustee Mike Lombardi proves liaison with the Vancouver School Board.

The Executive Director of the Planning Commission is Yuri Artibise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *