New Commissioner: Alyssa Koehn

On April 18, 2018, Vancouver City Council appointed Alyssa Koehn to the Vancouver City Planning Commission.  

Alyssa works at the intersection of urban planning, policy, development and design and enjoys negotiating the conversations between these different worlds. She is currently employed as an Intern Architect with Francl Architecture and has previously worked for San Francisco Planning on their Accessory Dwelling Unit program.

She received both her Master of Architecture and Master of Urban Planning at the University of California, Los Angeles. Prior to this, she completed her BA in Political Science and Human Geography at UBC. During her graduate studies, she founded the Architecture Graduate Students Association, helped found and finance POOL (an award-winning student produced architectural journal), and was a finalist in numerous design competitions.

In her spare time, she collects too many library book fines, leads a troop of Brownies, and serves as District Commissioner in the Kits-Fairview District with Girl Guides of Canada.

About Commission Appointments

Under City of Vancouver By-Law 5064, eleven (11) Commissioners are appointed by Council, and two (2) are appointment by the Commission itself. The two Commission-appointed Planning Commissioners are appointment for alternating two-year terms.  All Commissioner can served up to three consecutive two-year terms.  Daniella joins Anthony Perl as a Commission appointment.  Anthony’s current terms ends on December 31, 2017.

About the Vancouver City Planning Planning Commission

The Vancouver City Planning Commission is an advisory body of volunteers appointed by City Council with a broad mandate to consider and advise Council on matters relating to the future of Vancouver.

The current Planning Commissioners are: Nola-Kate Seymoar (Chair), Jennifer Marshall (Vice-chair), Dave Crossley (Treasurer), Veronika Bylicki, Omar Dominguez, Mike Fujii, Alyssa Koehn, Karenn Krangle, Robert Matas,  Leslie Shieh, Jacint Simon, and Anthony Perl.

Councillors Adriane Carr and Andrea Reimer provide liaison with Vancouver City Council; Commissioner Catherine Evans provides liaison with the Vancouver Parks Board; Trustee Janet Evans provides liaison with the Vancouver Board of Parks and Recreation; and, Chris Robertson provides liaison with the City o Vancouver’s Planning, urban Design and Sustainability department.

The Executive Director of the Planning Commission is Yuri Artibise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *