2019 VCPC Executive

At our April 10, 2019 meeting, the Vancouver City Planning Commission appointed  Nola Kate Seymoar, Omar Dominguez, Jennifer Marshall and Marnie Tamaki as their Executive Committee for 2019.

Chair: Nola Kate Seymoar

Nola Kate Seymoar

Nola-Kate is the retired president and CEO of the International Centre for Sustainable Cities (1999-2010). Under her leadership, ICSC won international recognition in urban planning and design, solid waste management, urban greening, energy efficiency and food security, and Canada’s top award for long-standing commitment to international cooperation.

Nola Kate has worked at all three levels of government, including serving as director general in Environment Canada and executive director of a royal commission of inquiry. In the non-governmental sector, she headed two large international conference events and was deputy to the president of the International Centre for Sustainable Development. She has contributed to many international summits and events as a speaker, delegate, and organizer. She served on advisory committees for the World Urban Forum and the World Peace Forum in 2006 in Vancouver. She headed a team of writers that produced From Ideas to Action: 70 Actionable Ideas  for the World Urban Forum III.

Nola Kate has three interdisciplinary degrees: a Ph.D. in social psychology, a master’s in community development and a bachelor of arts in recreation administration. She has taught at both undergraduate and graduate levels. Her writing and research centers on communities and empowerment.

Nola Kate received the UN Association’s Global Citizen Award in 1995, the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal in 2002 and the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012.

Co-Vice Chair: Omar Dominguez

Omar leads business planning and operations of Happy City. He co-conceives ground-breaking research and interventions to improve community wellbeing, and directs Happy City’s interdisciplinary team. With a background as a sustainable investor, Omar focuses on ways to ensure that new urban developments maximize public benefits and mitigate risks to society, investors and the environment. Omar also has a background in the creation and delivery of community development programs for vulnerable populations in Vancouver.

Omar completed a degree in International Business from the Technological Institute of Monterrey in Mexico City and an MA in Community Development and Social Planning from the University of British Columbia.

Co-Vice Chair: Jennifer Marshall

Jennifer has been actively involved in the architectural culture of Vancouver since 1975 when she began her architectural career at Thompson Berwick & Pratt. She has been a registered architect and principal of her own firm since 1989.

Her firm, Urban Arts Architecture, an award-winning practice in Gastown, specializes in community based cultural, recreation, and education projects. Recent projects include the Queensborough Community Centre in New Westminster, the T’it’q’et Community Hall and Health Centre near Lillooet, the Summerland branch of the Okanagan Regional Library, and the Engineering Student Centre at UBC.

Jennifer has worked as an urban designer on several significant urban projects, most notably the Vancouver Central Waterfront (Marathon Lands) and has continued to be involved in the visioning of the city, including the Gastown Waterfront Vision, and most recently re-visioning form of development for RS-1 neighbourhoods to allow for alternate affordable models of tenure. She recently completed serving as Chair of the Vancouver Urban Design Panel and sits on the Board for the Gastown BIA and the Centre for Art Architecture and Design in West Vancouver.

Treasurer: Marnie Tamaki

Marnie Tamaki

Marnie moved to Vancouver from Regina, Saskatchewan, to study at the School of Architecture, University of British Columbia. She has been a practicing Architect in Vancouver for 25 years on a wide range of commercial, community and multi-family buildings.  Her international work and interests have led to New York, Sri Lanka, and Papua New Guinea and include community development with women’s groups as well as building design and delivery.

As a member of the Huairou Commission : Women, Homes and Community, an international coalition network and an advisory body to UN-Habitat, Marnie is dedicated to advancing democratic, sustainable urban development, ensuring that grassroots communities have decision-making roles in all levels of government particularly on planning and urban design issues.  Marnie is currently a Project Manager with WSP Canada, a multi-disciplinary design and engineering company committed to Future Ready project delivery.  With our global future being predominantly urban, Vancouver has a great responsibility to plan well now.

About the Vancouver City Planning Commission

The Vancouver City Planning Commission is an advisory body of volunteers appointed by Vancouver City Council with a broad mandate to consider and advise Council on matters relating to the future of Vancouver.

The current Planning Commissioners are: Veronika Bylikci, Omar Dominguez, Mike Fujii, Albert Huanmg, Alyssa Koehn, Alix Krahn, Karenn Krangle, Jennifer Marshall, Robert Matas, Anthony Perl, Nola-Kate Seymoar, Jacint Simon, and Marnie Tamaki.

Councillor Pet Fry provides liaison with Vancouver City Council; Commissioner John Irwin provides liaison with the Vancouver Parks Board. Janet Fraser provides liaison with the Vancouver School Board.  Chris Robertson provides liaison wit the City’s department of Planning, Urban Design and Sustainability

The Executive Director of the Planning Commission is Yuri Artibise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *