2018 VCPC Executive

At our January 3, 2018 meeting, the Vancovuer City Planning Commission re-appointed  Nola Kate Seymoar, Jennifer Marshall and Dave Crossley as their Executive Committee for 2018.

Chair: Nola Kate Seymaor

Nola Kate Seymoar

Nola-Kate is the retired president and CEO of the International Centre for Sustainable Cities (1999-2010). Under her leadership, ICSC won international recognition in urban planning and design, solid waste management, urban greening, energy efficiency and food security, and Canada’s top award for long-standing commitment to international cooperation.

Nola Kate has worked at all three levels of government, including serving as director general in Environment Canada and executive director of a royal commission of inquiry. In the non-governmental sector, she headed two large international conference events and was deputy to the president of the International Centre for Sustainable Development. She has contributed to many international summits and events as a speaker, delegate, and organizer. She served on advisory committees for the World Urban Forum and the World Peace Forum in 2006 in Vancouver. She headed a team of writers that produced From Ideas to Action: 70 Actionable Ideas  for the World Urban Forum III.

Nola Kate has three interdisciplinary degrees: a Ph.D. in social psychology, a master’s in community development and a bachelor of arts in recreation administration. She has taught at both undergraduate and graduate levels. Her writing and research centers on communities and empowerment.

Nola Kate received the UN Association’s Global Citizen Award in 1995, the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal in 2002 and the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012.

Vice Chair: Jennifer Marshall

Jennifer has been actively involved in the architectural culture of Vancouver since 1975 when she began her architectural career at Thompson Berwick & Pratt. She has been a registered architect and principal of her own firm since 1989.

Her firm, Urban Arts Architecture, an award-winning practice in Gastown, specializes in community based cultural, recreation, and education projects. Recent projects include the Queensborough Community Centre in New Westminster, the T’it’q’et Community Hall and Health Centre near Lillooet, the Summerland branch of the Okanagan Regional Library, and the Engineering Student Centre at UBC.

Jennifer has worked as an urban designer on several significant urban projects, most notably the Vancouver Central Waterfront (Marathon Lands) and has continued to be involved in the visioning of the city, including the Gastown Waterfront Vision, and most recently re-visioning form of development for RS-1 neighbourhoods to allow for alternate affordable models of tenure. She recently completed serving as Chair of the Vancouver Urban Design Panel and sits on the Board for the Gastown BIA and the Centre for Art Architecture and Design in West Vancouver.

Secretary-Treasurer: Dave Crossley

David Crossley has been a resident of Vancouver for the past decade, having lived and worked in the metro Vancouver region his entire life. David holds a First Class Honours Degree in Geography, and a Certificate in Urban Studies from Simon Fraser University (SFU). Professionally, David has worked for the Planning Institute of British Columbia (the association of professional planners in BC and the Yukon) since 2002 years, currently as Executive Director. He previously worked as a constituency assistant for a Member of the Legislative Assembly.

David’s prior volunteer experience includes: serving as a director of the Consumer’s Association of Canada, serving on both the SFU Senate and Board of Governors, serving as an officer of the Simon Fraser Student Society, and as a director of the SFU Community Trust. David has also, as a resident, participated at various times in planning processes within his community.

About the Vancouver City Planning Commission

The current Planning Commissioners are: Nola-Kate Seymoar (Chair), Jennifer Marshall (Vice-chair), Dave Crossley (Treasurer), Janice Abbott, Veronika Bylikci, Omar Dominguez, Daniella Fergusson,  Mike Fujii, Karenn Krangle, Robert Matas, Anthony Perl, Leslie Shieh, and Jacint Simon.

Councillors Adriane Carr and Andrea Reimer provide liaison with Vancouver City Council; Commissioner Casey Crawford provides liaison with the Vancouver Parks Board. Janet Fraser provides liaison with the Vancouver School Board.  Chris Robertson provides liaison wit the City’s department of Planning, Urban Design and Sustainability

The Executive Director of the Planning Commission is Yuri Artibise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *